Certification Procedure

The application and further procedure for certification with the International Website Trust Standard (IWTS) can be carried out completely online by website operators in a few simple steps:

1. Application

In the application form for IWTS certification, the type of certificate required is selected. On the basis of some further basic data about the website to be certified, the website operator and the associated company, the price for the certification is determined directly, which has to be settled by invoice after the application for certification.

By submitting the completed application form, the website operator will receive directly by e-mail a confirmation with all submitted information, an invoice for the certification as well as some information about further preliminary work that is necessary prior to certification (see next point 2. Preliminary Work to be Done).

2. Preliminary Work to be Done

In order to be able to carry out the certification completely, some further information and evidence about the website to be certified and the company belonging to it are required following the application, which must be submitted by the authorised representative of the company.

All information and evidence can be submitted directly to the certification body via an online form (Preliminary Work). Most of the information required can be entered directly in the form. To be able to prove both the domain ownership and the ownership of the company, some preparations are necessary before filling out the form.

All details of the information to be provided and the evidence to be provided are listed in the section "Preliminary Work Instructions".

3. Audit

After the certification body has received the necessary input and the invoice for the certification has been settled, the audit based on the IWTS inspection criteria usually starts within 10 to 15 working days.

The audit takes place online as a desk audit, where the website to be certified is audited directly from the certification body, so it is not necessary for an auditor to be present on site.

If an inspection criterion does not meet the requirements of the IWTS-Standard, the certification body will contact the applicant by email and inform him of the discrepancies so that these can be clarified or rectified and the audit can be carried out and completed completely and successfully.

4. Certification

Following the audit and if all criteria of the IWTS-Standard have been successfully checked, the certification body will carry out the certification.

The certification participant will also be informed by email about the successful certification and the possibilities to integrate the seal of the IWTS-Standard on the certified website. Detailed instructions on how to integrate the IWTS seal can also be found in the IWTS Seal Integration Guide section.

Validity and Recertification

The IWTS certificate is valid for one year after certification. After one year, recertification must be carried out if the IWTS certificate and the IWTS seal, as proof of the security standard, are still to be used on the operator's website. The website operator will be informed in good time so that a recertification can be applied for and the IWTS certificate and the IWTS seal can be used on the website without interruption.

Further information on the IWTS-Standard

Ablauf Zertifizierung

Die Beantragung und der weitere Ablauf für die Zertifizierung mit dem International Website Trust Standard (IWTS) ist für Webseitenbetreiber in wenigen einfachen Schritten vollständig online durchführbar:

1. Beantragung

Im Antragsformular für die IWTS-Zertifizierung wird die Art des gewünschten Zertifikats ausgewählt. Auf der Grundlage einiger weiterer Basisdaten über die zu zertifizierende Webseite, den Webseitenbetreiber und das dazugehörige Unternehmen, wird direkt der Preis für die Zertifizierung ermittelt, der im Anschluss an die Beantragung der Zertifizierung per Rechnung ausgeglichen werden muss.

Mit Absenden des ausgefüllten Antragsformulars erhält der Webseitenbetreiber direkt per E-Mail eine Bestätigung mit allen eingereichten Angaben, eine Rechnung für die Zertifizierung sowie einige Informationen über weitere Zuarbeiten, die im Vorfeld der Zertifizierung nötig sind (siehe nächster Punkt 2. Zuarbeiten).

2. Zuarbeiten

Um die Zertifizierung vollständig durchführen zu können, werden im Anschluss an die Beantragung noch einige weitere Informationen und Nachweise über die zu zertifizierende Webseite und das dazugehörige Unternehmen benötigt, die durch den Vertretungsberechtigten des Unternehmens eingereicht werden müssen.

Sämtliche Informationen und Nachweise können direkt über ein Online-Formular (Zuarbeiten) der Zertifizierungsstelle übermittelt werden. Die meisten benötigten Informationen können direkt im Formular angegeben werden. Um sowohl die Domain-Inhaberschaft als auch die Inhaberschaft des Unternehmens nachweisen zu können, sind vor dem Ausfüllen des Formulars einige Vorbereitungen nötig.

Alle Details der zu machenden Angaben und den zu liefernden Nachweisen sind im Bereich “Zuarbeiten Anleitung” aufgeführt.

3. Audit

Nachdem die Zertifizierungsstelle die nötigen Zuarbeiten erhalten hat und die Rechnung für die Zertifizierung ausgeglichen wurde, beginnt das Audit anhand der IWTS-Prüfkriterien in der Regel innerhalb von 10 bis 15 Werktagen.

Das Audit findet online als Desk-Audit statt, bei dem die zu zertifizierende Webseite direkt von der Zertifizierungsstelle aus auditiert wird, sodass es nicht nötig ist, dass ein Auditor vor Ort anwesend sein muss.

Sollte ein Prüfpunkt nicht den Vorgaben des IWTS-Standards entsprechen, wird die Zertifizierungsstelle per E-Mail mit dem Antragsteller Kontakt aufnehmen und ihn über die Unstimmigkeiten informieren, sodass diese geklärt oder behoben werden können und das Audit vollständig und erfolgreich durchgeführt und abgeschlossen werden kann.

4. Zertifizierung

Im Anschluss an das Audit und wenn alle Kriterien des IWTS-Standards erfolgreich geprüft wurden, findet durch die Zertifizierungsstelle die Zertifizierung statt.

Über die erfolgreiche Zertifizierung und die Möglichkeiten, das Siegel des IWTS-Standards auf die zertifizierte Webseite zu integrieren, wird der Zertifzierungsteilnehmer ebenfalls per E-Mail benachrichtigt. Eine ausführliche Anleitung zur Integration des IWTS-Siegels kann auch im Bereich IWTS-Siegel Integrationsanleitung eingesehen werden.

Gültigkeit und Rezertifizierung

Das IWTS-Zertifikat hat nach erfolgter Zertifizierung eine Gültigkeit von einem Jahr. Nach einem Jahr muss eine Rezertifizierung erfolgen, sofern das IWTS-Zertifikat und das IWTS-Siegel, als Ausweis des Sicherheitsstandards, weiterhin auf der Seite des Webseitenbetreibers verwendet werden sollen. Der Webseitenbetreiber wird rechtzeitig davor informiert, damit eine Rezertifizierung beantragt werden kann und somit das IWTS-Zertifikat und das IWTS-Siegel ohne Unterbrechung auf der Webseite genutzt werden kann.

Weitere Informationen zum IWTS-Standard