Explanation of Terms

Recognised certification body

Is a certification body accredited by a national accreditation body and recognized by the IWTS program owner according to the recognition procedure described in the program manual.

Recognized auditor

Is a person who fulfills the technical and personnel requirements defined in the program manual and on the basis of this conformity is recognized by the certification body for his work in the IWTS program. Only recognized auditors may be used for this activity.

Audit

Examination of the conformity of a website with the IWTS-Standard by a recognized auditor from a recognized certification body. Audits are carried out as desk audits. They are based on the regulations of ISO 19001.

Advisory Board

Is a body that supports the real functioning of the IWTS program. The advisory board advises the management of the FdWB. It also acts as a conciliation committee in the event of objections from certification bodies or from customers if the facts of the case exceed the responsibility of the certification body. It should represent the "interested parties" in a representative manner and should not comprise more than 5 persons.

Benchmarking

Is a systematic and documented comparison of the performance of different certification programs; usually with the aim of checking or realizing a cooperation between the programs. The aim is usually to achieve economic advantages for program owners, certification bodies and certificate users.

Consulting

In this context, the activity of providing support to a website operator, planning, developing, operating or marketing websites. Certification bodies are not permitted to engage in this activity in order to avoid conflicts of interest in their certification decision.
For the FdWB the prohibition of consulting does not apply.

Parties involved

Participants of the IWTS program are: the program owner Fachverband deutscher Webseiten-Betreiber GmbH (FdWB; Association of German Website Operators) and its organs, all recognized certification bodies and all certificate holders (= website operators).

Desk Audit

Is an audit that does not take place on site at the customer's premises but can take place from any possible location. A desk audit is possible if there is no need for on-site assessments and tests at the customer's premises. Since the IWTS-Standard is the certification of websites that can be accessed online and all information and evidence can be submitted online to the certification body, a desk audit is possible. A desk audit saves considerable time and costs, which was taken into account in the prices for certification of the IWTS-Standard.

IWTS-Standard of the FdWB

Is a description of all website characteristics (= requirement criteria for the website) of the website operators that are necessary to achieve the goals of the FdWB certification program.

Interested party

Is a website operator who is interested in certification against the IWTS-Standard of the FdWB but has not yet submitted an application to a certification body.

Interested parties (Stakeholders)

Are natural or legal persons as well as other groups that participate in or feel affected by the IWTS program (e.g. website operators, website users, certification bodies, customers, authorities, etc.).

Conformity

With all requirement criteria described in the IWTS-Standard of the FdWB is a prerequisite for the granting of a certificate. It must be ensured that the product requirements and the certification requirements are met in full.

Client

According to ISO 17065, the organization or person responsible to a certification body for ensuring that the certification requirements, including product requirements, are met. In the context of this certification program, the customer is a commercial, freelance or legal entity (not a natural person in the sense of an end consumer) who is responsible for ensuring that the legal requirements for the security and quality of the website are met and, as the authorized signatory, signs the certification agreement with the certification authority.
Other definitions in certain legal regulations, e.g. HGB, German Civil Code (§ 312c), Telemedia Act (§ 5), GDPR (in German DSGVO) or others, are not applicable in this narrowly defined context, if the regulation is not contradictory to the legal regulations.
All certified website operators are published on the internet by the program owner.

Users of websites

Are legal or natural persons, especially end consumers, who use websites. They are usually not experts on the functionality and security of websites. But they are interested in knowing if the visited website is secure and trustworthy. The IWTS seal provides the desired positive information at a glance and thus creates commercially beneficial trust for the website operator.

Product requirements

These are the criteria for all properties of the website, which are defined in the IWTS-Standard of the FdWB. The specification of the criteria is (usually) done by third party standards. The compliance with all criteria has to be checked completely in the certification process during the audit.

Program adaptations

Is a measure of the program owner to identify and implement selective changes in the program and to communicate them to the certification authorities and certificate users. A form is used for this purpose. The starting point for program adjustments can be: normative or legal changes to the criteria described in the program manual. Insights into the improvement of processes defined in the program manual can also lead to program adjustments. The need for program adaptations is to be observed, identified and formulated by the program owner. Intended program adaptations are to be submitted to the advisory board for decision.
If there is a need for general changes to the program, e.g. because a large number of program adjustments have been made in the meantime, the program owner creates a new version of the program. The program owner may call in external experts for this purpose. The new version must be submitted to the advisory board for a decision.

Program owner (program carrier)

Is an individual or organization responsible for developing and maintaining a particular certification program (ISO 17067). Program owner of the IWTS program is the FdWB.

Test marks (seal, conformity mark, certification mark, logo)

The IWTS test mark is a registered word and image mark and forms the seal of the IWTS program. It informs the user of a website at a glance that this website has been checked by the IWTS program against the IWTS-Standard of the FdWB and thus has special security features. The logo is property of the program owner. It can be used free of charge by all participants in the IWTS program to mark the website itself and documents related to the IWTS program as eye-catchers.

Quality level

The IWTS program can have different variants, globally or by regions and countries (International, German-DE, USA-USA, China-CHN, Austria-AUT, Switzerland-CHE and others). Details must be presented in writing by updating the program.

Risk of a website

Is defined in this certification program depending on compliance with legal regulations in the areas of cyber security, GDPR (in German DSGVO), identification requirements according to the applicable Telemedia Act and EU regulations as well as additional extensive protective measures defined in the IWTS-Standard.
The inspection criteria of the IWTS-Standard define the condition.

Website operator

Are commercial, freelance or legal persons (not natural persons in the sense of an end consumer - these are website owners) who use a website to provide information to specific target groups. As a rule, they have no expert knowledge about the security and technical quality of a website and must have this done by service providers without being able to assess the quality of the service themselves. The application of a quality and security standard whose conformity with the standard has been certified gives the website operator confidence in his own website and commercial advantages if the users of his website can also gain confidence in the website by looking at the IWTS seal.

Certificate

Is the document which, based on the examination of a website with a defined procedure by an accredited certification body approved by the FdWB, confirms that this website fully meets all criteria of the IWTS-Standard of the FdWB, which is part of this program manual. The certificate is property of the issuing certification body. The latter is the basis for the fact that the certification body can withdraw it at any time if the certificate user does not ensure that his website complies with the FdWB's IWTS-Standard within a reasonable period of time.

Certificate user

Are commercial, self-employed persons or legal entities (not natural persons in the sense of an end consumer) who, on the basis of a valid certification agreement, use a certificate issued by a competent certification body for their purposes.

Certification requirements

Are the common set of product requirements plus the requirements that the certification process places on the customer. The requirements for the certification procedure are in turn the common requirements that the certification program plus the certification body place on the customer. For a successful certification decision, all certification requirements must be completely checked and fulfilled.

Certification Program

Is a written system that describes the requirements (= criteria), rules and procedures to certify certain products, processes and services. When developing certification schemes, scheme owners should, in addition to the requirements to be met by users (customers), also meet the formal requirements of ISO 17067. Certification bodies that certify products, processes and services should be accredited to ISO 17065. Companies that wish to have their products, processes or services certified should thoroughly prepare both the selection of the certification scheme that best suits their needs and the fulfillment of all requirements of the certification scheme before the first audit.

Further information on the IWTS-Standard

en_USEnglish
de_DEDeutsch en_USEnglish

Begriffserklärungen

Anerkannte Zertifizierungsstelle

Ist eine Zertifizierungsstelle, die von einer nationalen Akkreditierungsstelle akkreditiert ist und vom IWTS-Programmeigner nach dem, im Programmhandbuch beschriebenen Anerkennungsverfahren anerkannt ist.

Anerkannter Auditor

Ist eine Person, die die im Programmhandbuch definierten fachlichen und personellen Anforderungen erfüllt und auf der Basis dieser Konformität von der Zertifizierungsstelle für seine Tätigkeit im IWTS-Programm anerkannt ist. Es dürfen nur anerkannte Auditoren für diese Tätigkeit eingesetzt werden.

Audit

Prüfung der Konformität einer Webseite mit dem IWTS-Standard durch einen anerkannten Auditor von einer anerkannten Zertifizierungsstelle. Audits erfolgen als Desk-Audits. Sie lehnen sich an die Vorschriften der ISO 19001 an.

Beirat

Ist ein Gremium, welches das reale Funktionieren des IWTS-Programms unterstützt. Der Beirat berät die Geschäftsführung des FdWB. Er arbeitet auch als Schlichtungskomitee bei Widersprüchen von Zertifizierungsstellen oder von Kunden, wenn der Sachverhalt über die Verantwortlichkeit der Zertifizierungsstelle hinausgeht. Er sollte repräsentativ die „interessierten Kreise“ vertreten und nicht mehr als 5 Personen umfassen.

Benchmarking

Ist ein systematischer und dokumentierter Leistungsvergleich verschiedener Zertifizierungsprogramme; meist mit dem Ziel eine Kooperation der Programme zu prüfen bzw. zu realisieren. Damit werden üblicherweise wirtschaftliche Vorteile für Programmeigner, Zertifizierungsstellen und Zertifikatsnutzer angestrebt.

Beratung

Ist im vorliegenden Zusammenhang die Tätigkeit, einem Webseitenbetreiber Unterstützung zu geben, Webseiten zu planen, zu entwickeln, zu betreiben oder zu vermarkten. Zertifizierungsstellen ist diese Tätigkeit nicht erlaubt, um Interessenkonflikte bei ihrer Zertifizierungsentscheidung zu vermeiden.
Für den FdWB gilt das Beratungsverbot nicht.

Beteiligte

Beteiligte des IWTS-Programms sind: der Programmeigner Fachverband deutscher Webseiten-Betreiber GmbH (FdWB) und seine Organe, alle anerkannten Zertifizierungsstellen und alle Zertifikatsinhaber (=Webseitenbetreiber).

Desk-Audit

Ist ein Audit, das nicht vor Ort beim Kunden stattfindet sondern von jemdem möglichen Ort aus stattfinden kann. Ein Desk-Audit ist möglich, wenn keine Begutachtungen und Prüfungen vor Ort beim Kunden stattfinden müssen. Da es sich beim IWTS-Standard um die Zertifizierung von Webseiten handelt, die online aufgerufen werden können, und alle Informationen und Nachweise online an die Zertifizierungsstelle übermittelt werden können, ist ein Desk-Audit möglich. Ein Desk-Audit spart erheblich Zeit und Kosten, was beim IWTS-Standard bei den Preisen für die Zertifizierung berücksichtigt wurde.

IWTS-Standard des FdWB

Ist Beschreibung aller Webseiteneigenschaften (= Anforderungen an die Webseite) der Webseitenbetreiber, die für die Erreichung der Ziele des FdWB-Zertifizierungsprogramms erforderlich sind.

Interessent

Ist ein Webseitenbetreiber, der sich für die Zertifizierung gegen den IWTS-Standard des FdWB interessiert, jedoch noch keinen Antrag an eine Zertifizierungsstelle abgegeben hat.

Interessierte Kreise (Stakeholder)

Sind natürliche oder juristische Personen sowie weitere Gruppen, die sich am IWTS-Programm beteiligt oder von ihm betroffen fühlen (z. B. Webseitenbetreiber, Webseitennutzer, Zertifizierungsstellen, Kunden, Behörden u. a.).

Konformität

Mit allen Anforderungen, die im IWTS-Standard des FdWB beschrieben sind, ist eine Voraussetzung für die Erteilung eines Zertifikats. Dabei ist sicherzustellen, dass die Produktanforderungen und die Zertifizierungsanforderungen gleichermaßen vollständig erfüllt sind.

Kunde

Ist gemäß ISO 17065 die Organisation oder Person, die gegenüber einer Zertifizierungsstelle verantwortlich dafür ist, sicherzustellen, dass die Zertifizierungsanforderungen, inkl. der Produktanforderungen, erfüllt sind. Im Rahmen dieses Zertifizierungsprogramms ist der Kunde eine gewerblich, freiberuflich Tätige oder juristische Person (keine natürliche Person im Sinne eines Endverbrauchers), die verantwortlich ist für die Erfüllung der rechtlichen Anforderungen für die Sicherheit und Qualität der Webseite und als Zeichnungsberechtigter den Zertifizierungsvertrag mit der Zertifizierungsstelle signiert.
Andere Definitionen in bestimmten Rechtsvorschriften, z. B. HGB, Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch (§ 312c), Telemediengesetz (§ 5), DSGVO oder weitere, finden in diesem eng definierten Zusammenhang keine Anwendung, wenn die Regelung nicht widersprüchlich zu den gesetzlichen Regelungen ist.
Alle zertifizierten Webseitenbetreiber werden vom Programmeigner im Internet veröffentlicht.

Nutzer von Webseiten

Sind juristische oder natürliche Personen, besonders Endverbraucher, die Webseiten benutzen. Sie sind üblicherweise keine Experten zur Funktionalität und Sicherheit von Webseiten. Aber sie sind daran interessiert zu wissen, ob die besuchte Webseite sicher und vertrauensvoll ist. Das IWTS-Siegel gibt mit einem Blick die gewünschte positive Auskunft und schafft so für den Webseitenbetreiber kaufmännisch nutzbringendes Vertrauen.

Produktanforderungen

Sind die Kriterien für alle Eigenschaften der Webseite, die im IWTS-Standard des FdWB definiert sind. Die Spezifizierung der Kriterien erfolgt (in der Regel) durch Normen Dritter. Die Einhaltung aller Kriterien ist im Zertifizierungsprozess während des Audits komplett zu überprüfen.

Programmanpassungen

Ist eine Maßnahme des Programmeigners, punktuellen Veränderungsbedarf im Programm zu identifizieren und zu realisieren sowie an die Zertifizierungsstellen und Zertifikatsnutzer zu übermitteln. Hierfür wird ein Formblatt genutzt. Ausgangspunkt für Programmanpassungen können sein: normative oder rechtliche Veränderungen an den Kriterien die im Programmhandbuch beschriebenen sind. Auch Erkenntnisse zur Verbesserung von im Programmhandbuch festgelegten Prozessen können zur Programmanpassung führen. Der Bedarf für Programmanpassungen ist vom Programmeigner zu beobachten, zu identifizieren und zu formulieren. Beabsichtigte Programmanpassungen sind dem Beirat zur Beschlussfassung vorzulegen.
Entsteht ein Bedarf für generelle Veränderungen des Programms, z. B. weil inzwischen eine größere Anzahl von Programmanpassungen erfolgten, wird vom Programmeigner eine neue Version des Programms erstellt. Der Programmeigner darf hierzu externe Experten heranziehen. Die neue Version ist dem Beirat zur Beschlussfassung vorzulegen.

Programmeigner (Programmträger)

Ist eine Person oder Organisation, die für die Entwicklung und Aufrechterhaltung eines bestimmten Zertifizierungsprogramms verantwortlich ist. (ISO 17067). Programmeigner des IWTS-Programms ist der FdWB.

Prüfzeichen (Siegel, Konformitätszeichen, Zertifizierungszeichen, Logo)

Das IWTS-Prüfzeichen ist eine eingetragene Wort-Bild-Marke und bildet das Siegel des IWTS-Programms. Es informiert den Nutzer einer Webseite mit einem Blick, dass diese Webseite mittels des IWTS-Programms gegen den IWTS-Standard des FdWB geprüft wurde und damit über besondere Sicherheitseigenschaften verfügt. Das Zeichen ist Eigentum des Programmeigners. Es kann von allen Beteiligten am IWTS-Programm kostenlos genutzt werden, um die Webseite selbst und Dokumente, die mit dem IWTS-Programm in Verbindung stehen, als Blickfang zu markieren.

Qualitätsebene

Das IWTS-Programm kann verschiedene Varianten haben, global oder nach Regionen und Ländern (International, Deutsch-DE, USA-USA, China-CHN, Österreich-AUT, Schweiz-CHE u. a.). Details sind durch Fortschreibung des Programms schriftlich darzulegen.

Risiko einer Webseite

Wird in diesem Zertifizierungsprogramm definiert in Abhängigkeit von der Einhaltung von gesetzlichen Bestimmungen in den Bereichen Cyber-Sicherheit, DSGVO, Ausweisungspflichten laut des geltenden Telemediengesetzes und EU-Verordnungen sowie zusätzlich im IWTS-Standard definierter, weitgehender Schutzmaßnahmen.
Die Prüfpunkte des IWTS-Standards definieren den Zustand.

Webseitenbetreiber

Sind gewerblich, freiberuflich Tätige oder juristische Personen (keine natürlichen Personen im Sinne eines Endverbrauchers – dies sind Webseiteninhaber), die mithilfe einer Webseite Informationen an bestimmte Zielgruppen geben. Sie verfügen i. d. R. über kein Expertenwissen über die Sicherheit und technische Qualität einer Webseite und müssen dies von Dienstleistern erledigen lassen, ohne selbst die Qualität der Dienstleistung beurteilen zu können. Die Anwendung eines Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsstandards, dessen Konformität mit dem Standard zertifiziert ist, gibt dem Webseitenbetreiber Vertrauen in seine eigene Webseite und kaufmännische Vorteile, wenn auch die Nutzer seiner Webseite mit einem Blick auf das IWTS-Siegel Vertrauen in die Webseite bekommen.

Zertifikat

Ist das Dokument, welches auf der Grundlage der Prüfung einer Webseite mit einem definierten Verfahren durch eine akkreditierte und vom FdWB zugelassene Zertifizierungsstelle bestätigt, dass diese Webseite sämtliche Kriterien des IWTS-Standards des FdWB, der Bestandteil dieses Programm-Handbuchs ist, vollständig erfüllt. Das Zertifikat ist Eigentum der ausgebenden Zertifizierungsstelle. Letzteres ist die Grundlage dafür, dass die Zertifizierungsstelle jederzeit dann wieder entziehen kann, wenn der Zertifikatsnutzer nicht in angemessener Zeit für die Konformität seiner Webseite mit dem IWTS-Standard des FdWB sorgt.

Zertifikatsnutzer

Sind gewerblich, freiberuflich Tätige oder juristische Personen (keine natürlichen Personen im Sinne eines Endverbrauchers), die auf der Grundlage eines gültigen Zertifizierungsvertrages, ein, von einer zuständigen Zertifizierungsstelle ausgestelltes Zertifikat für seine Zwecke nutzt.

Zertifizierungsanforderungen

Sind die gemeinsame Menge der Produktanforderungen plus der Anforderungen, die das Zertifizierungsverfahren an den Kunden stellt. Die Anforderungen an das Zertifizierungsverfahren sind wiederum die gemeinsamen Anforderungen, die das Zertifizierungsprogramm plus die Zertifizierungsstelle an den Kunden stellen. Für die erfolgreiche Zertifizierungsentscheidung sind alle Zertifizierungsanforderungen vollständig zu prüfen und zu erfüllen.

Zertifizierungsprogramm

Ist ein i.d.R schriftlich dargelegtes System, das die Anforderungen (= Kriterien), Regeln und Verfahren beschreibt, um bestimmte Produkte, Prozesse und Dienstleistungen zu zertifizieren. Programmeigner sollten bei der Entwicklung von Zertifizierungsprogrammen zusätzlich zu den, durch die Nutzer (Kunden) zu erfüllenden Anforderungen auch die formalen Anforderungen der ISO 17067 erfüllen. Zertifizierungsstellen, die Produkte, Prozesse und Dienstleistungen zertifizieren, sollten nach ISO 17065 akkreditiert sein. Unternehmen, die ihre Produkte, Prozesse oder Dienstleistungen zertifizieren lassen möchten, sollten sowohl die Auswahl des für sie optimal passenden Zertifizierungsprogramms als auch die Erfüllung aller Anforderungen des Zertifizierungsprogramms vor dem ersten Audit gründlich vorbereiten.

Weitere Informationen zum IWTS-Standard

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch